Official Candidates Announced for World Car of the Year
February 26, 2014

Official Candidates Announced For World Car Of The Year

Top Speed has listed the finalists for the prestigious World Car of the Year award. Every year this award is given to the top pick in several different categories by motoring journalists from all over the world. They attend the New York International Auto Show (NYIAS) and pick the winner from the hundreds of participants.

Winners of the 2014 World Car Awards (WCAs) will be announced at the show on April 17, 2014. The ceremony is hosted by the NYIAS and the Bridgestone Corporation.

The different categories include World Car of the Year; World Luxury Car; World Performance Car; World Green Car and World Car Design. WCA and NYIAS earlier this year formed an agreement to keep this awards ceremony in New York through 2018.

On March 4, 2014 the top three finalists will be announced at the Geneva International Motor Show. Voting is done by secret ballots and tabulated by the international accounting firm KPMG.

From the press release:

The awards are administered by a non-profit association, under the guidance of a Steering Committee of pre-eminent automotive journalists from Asia, Europe, and North America. Peter Lyon (Japan) and Matt Davis (Italy) are the co-chairs; John McCormick (USA), Jens Meiners (Germany), Mike Rutherford (U.K.), Eddie Alterman (USA), and Gerry Malloy (Canada) are the directors. There is no affiliation with, nor are the awards in any way influenced by any publication, auto show, automaker, or other commercial enterprise.

This is the list of candidates competing for the awards all in alphabetical order.

In the category of World Car of the Year, there are 12 semi-finalists due to a multiple tie.

The Audi A3; BMW 4 Series; BMW i3; Cadillac CTS; Citroen C4 Picasso; Ford Fusion / Mondeo; Infiniti Q50; Jeep Cherokee; Lexus IS; Mazda 3; Peugeot 308 and the Skoda Octavia.

The 2013 award went to the Volkswagen Golf.

In the World Luxury Car category, there were ten semi-finalists.

The Bentley Flying Spur; BMW X5; Cadillac ELR; Cadillac Escalade; Maserati Ghibli; Maserati Quattroporte; Mercedes-Benz S-Class; Porsche Macan; Range Rover Sport and the Rolls-Royce Wraith.

This is the first year for this category, so there was no 2013 winner.

In the World Performance Car category there are eleven semi-finalists due to a tie.

The Alfa Romeo 4C; Audi RS 6 Avant; BMW M6 Gran Coupe; Chevrolet Corvette Stingray; Ferrari 458 Speciale; Ford Fiesta ST; Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 Roadster; Mercedes-Benz A/CLA45 AMG; Porsche 911 GT3; Porsche 911 Turbo and the Volkswagen Golf GTI.

In 2013 the winner in this category was the Porsche Boxster/Cayman.

In the World Green Car category, the five semi-finalists are.

The Audi A3 Sportback e-tron; BMW i3; Honda Accord Hybrid; Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV and the Volkswagen XL1.

The World Car Design award is picked from vehicles with at least ten units produced. The seven semi-finalist are.

The BMW i3; Cadillac CTS; Citroen C4 Picasso; Mazda 3; Lexus IS; Mercedes-Benz C-Class and the Volkswagen XL1.

That was the list of candidates in each category. Please comment your choice for winners.

Image Credit: Thinkstock

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Email