Richmond Race: Exciting And Controversial (Part 2)
September 11, 2013

Richmond Race: Exciting And Controversial (Part 2)

Be sure to read Part 1.

In my last post on this, I covered some of the events of the race that determined the running order. However, they didn’t come without a little bit of controversy. This post will touch on this a bit, plus give you the running order of the top ten for the chase, plus the two wild card spots.

Martin Truex Jr., ironically is Clint Bowyer’s teammate and this is where the controversy begins. Newman was leading the race and if he won, it would knock Truex out. Now speculation is flying around that Bowyer spun purposely to give Truex, his teammate, a chance for the final wild card spot. And ultimately, by Newman not winning, Truex did receive that spot.

Earnhardt Jr., who was directly behind Bowyer, said, “He just spun right out. That’s the craziest thing I ever saw. He just came around. I don’t know if they can put up his brakes and his gas. We got all the technology. But he was hemming around on the brakes and jerking the car around, and then the thing just spun out. It was crazy. I don’t know what was going on.”

Another incident that may bring up some controversy happened on the final restart with three laps to go. Paul Menard was the leader and Carl Edwards was restarting second. NASCAR rules state that the second place car may not cross the line ahead of the leader on a restart.

In fact, Edwards, who was starting second, did indeed cross the line first and went on to win the race.

“What happened on that last restart is Paul had two tires,” Edwards said following the race. “I knew he was going to be at a big disadvantage with grip. He took off. I waited until he went to go. As we were going, his car actually touched my door. I think it surprised him a little bit or something. He turned a little bit. I heard his engine speed up. He spun the tires. At that point, I really have a choice to either lift off the throttle and wait for him to try to gather it up — I’ve never seen a guy able to gather it up that quickly when they spin that bad — or go and hope NASCAR understands that he spun his tires. In this case, they did.”

After a wild and crazy finish, and with a little controversy mixed in, the field is set for the final ten races to determine this years NASACAR champion. The running order is determined by top tens in points and two wild cards. Each driver gets 2000 points to start. Plus the top ten receive three points for each win. This determines the final running order for the chase.

Position Driver Points Wins
1 Matt Kenseth 2015 5
2 Jimmie Johnson 2012 4
3 Kyle Busch 2012 4
4 Kevin Harvick 2006 2
5 Carl Edwards 2006 2
6 Joey Logano 2003 1
7 Greg Biffle 2003 1
8 Clint Bowyer 2000 0
9 Dale Earnhardt Jr 2000 0
10 Kurt Busch 2000 0
Wild Card Drivers
11 Kasey Kahne 2000 2
12 Martin Truex Jr 2000 1

Image Credit:

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Email