Thief Video Game Series (Part 1)
April 1, 2014

Thief Video Game Series (Part 2)

In Part 1, I briefly covered the Thief and Thief II games I had purchased back in late 1990 and early 2000. They were a very enjoyable game with good graphics for the time. Here in Part 2, I will go into more detail on the series, covering all four games.

Thief: The Dark Project

This is the first in a series of video games developed by Looking Glass Studios and published by Eidos Interactive, designed for Microsoft Windows.  It was released in November, 1998.

Before the game begins, a story is told explaining parts of Garret’s life. The game itself features you as a master thief named Garret who sneaks around the city, completing quests in a first person shooter display. In the game, Garret can climb, crouch, walk, run, swim, pick up items, throw items and attack, but must also keep from being seen by the middle-age style guards.

The game contains 12 levels that can be played in three difficulty levels. Each level contains a mission that must be completed to move onto the next level. Garret has a blackjack (club), bow and a sword as weapons, and he can use them to incapacitate or kill the non-player character (NPC). Once the NPC is down, the immobile person can be picked up, carried away and hidden.

Other items that can be found and used are water arrows to extinguish torches, rope arrows for climbing, flashbombs, speed potions, keys, lock picks and many other useful and needed tools.  Items can also be purchased between levels with gold and silver found and collected during the missions.

Thief II: The Metal Age

This is the first sequel to the original Thief game. It is also developed by Looking Glass studios and published by Eidos Interactive for Microsoft Windows and was released in February, 2000.

As in Thief: The Dark Project, Garret is controlled by the player. He is a master thief and must roam around the city undetected and complete the missions dictated. Game play is similar to the first Thief, where objectives must be completed before going onto the next mission. Items can be found during each mission, as well as bought between missions. A map of the mission area may also be viewed by pressing the “M” key on the keyboard. Progress can also be saved.

Thief: Deadly Shadows

The third installment of the Thief series video game was developed by Ion Storm for Microsoft Windows and Xbox and was released in 2004.

Again, the player has the role of Garret, the master thief, who is given missions to complete. Unlike the first two releases, Deadly Shadows allows Garret to walk around the city between missions and steal from passers by, spy on the townspeople and do side quests.

Another difference is the player can switch from first person to third person views.  Maps can be viewed and progress can be saved like in Thief II.

While searching the city between missions, Garret may sell stolen goods acquired in the previous missions, enter shops to buy items and weapons and break into homes to find more loot.


This is the fourth Thief video game in the series. It was released on February 25, 2014, developed by Eidos Montreal and published by Square Enix. It can be played on Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

Unlike the previous three games, Garret can choose how to approach the level. Hiding in the shadows may not be as protective as it was in the other Thief games. However, game play is similar. There is also a Focus mode that enhances Garrett’s vision and can also slow down time to aid in pick pocketing.  As in the previous games, Garret carries a blackjack and a bow and can purchase items between missions.

As I mentioned in Part 1, I completed every mission in Thief: The Dark Project, and am currently on mission three in Thief: The Metal Age.

This series has been noted as one of the best video game series ever. I can’t wait to get into the next two. Happy gaming!

Image Credit: Eidos Interactive

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Email